Santee Oils – Your Health, Just for Today

Improving Lives – change just one thing, just for today. Featuring the benefits of doTERRA Essential Oils

Green Fruit Smoothies – what a wonderful start to my day!

on March 6, 2013

Oz_Weekend_Cleanse_MEDIALast summer I had a serious lack of energy.  Not your run of the mill, tired after a long day’s work lack, but a full drag your butt on the ground just to get across the room lack.  I could push myself enough to fake it through a couple hours of work, but that was about it.  When I didn’t have work on a day, I was able to get myself to an hour cardio workout, but again – that’s all she wrote, my day was pooped!  As a self-employed person, struggling along without health insurance, I put off doctor visits (usually until my body has healed itself) but I was about to break open my piggie bank and drag my tired butt to the clinic.  And then I had a couple of things make me go aHA! Maybe I’d found my answer?

An episode of Dr. Oz talked about women who described the exact same symptoms as mine, down to a “T” and caught my interest.  The topic that day was on Magnesium deficiencies (I’ll bring a post over to this blog from my facebook page later this week about this topic for more information).  And the next day I opened a new issue of First for Women magazine and there it was again:  Magnesium deficiency.  Among the recipes presented in the magazine were a couple for Green Fruit Smoothies.  Those definitely caught my attention – good for me and EASY to shop for and to make!  Trust me – when you have this type of energy loss, going to the store is akin to climbing Mount Everest (in my mind).

They are now a regular part of my weekday mornings.  A batch usually lasts me two – three days and it’s easy to just reach in the ‘fridge and grab-n-go with my drink in hand, providing me with about 2 1/2 servings of magnesium boosters (5 a day is optimum, and spread them out throughout the day to keep the body supplied).   My smoothie is enough to last me thru lunchtime as I take sips throughout the morning hours.

You can web search for so many Green Fruit Smoothie recipies – they are at your fingertips!  Here is a sample of what one of mine looks like:

  • 1 cup chopped spinach
  • 1 tablespoon chopped shallot
  • 1 chopped carrot
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 container yogurt (I use one of my flavored single-serving yogurts)
  • 1 tablesoon flaxseed
  • 2 bananas
  • assorted fresh fruits:  I try to stay with fresh and pick up whatever is in season when I’m at the grocery store or farmer’s market.  My favorites are blackberries, raspberries, blueberries and strawberries.  Try watermelon – delish!   Experiment!

Toss them all in the blender (I start with the yogurt and veggies to get them blended well, then add the other ingredients) and p5ml_Cinnamonulverize!  I personally don’t use my blender – it doesn’t liquify as well as my hand-held Braun mixer, it works like magic! – but not everyone has one of these.

As I pour them into my individual cups, I save room to add no-sugar added apple juice to thin it out and make it to a full serving.

And for a delicious way to add a dose of extra health benefit to your smoothie:  add ONE drop of doTERRA Cinnamon essential oil (Cinnamomum zeylanicum)!  Cinnamon is a metabolism booster and has many other health properties (take a look HERE for more information on this spice).  PLEASE NOTE:  one drop is all that is needed of this tasty oil.  Essential oils are much more concentrated than their herbal counterparts.  Also NOTE:  not all essential oils are created equal!  doTERRA Cinnamon essential oil is approved to be ingested – not all oils can be taken internally.  If you choose your Cinnamon from another source, be sure to find out if it is ingestible first!

What is YOUR favorite green smoothie recipe?  Let us know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

